In memory of William and Lilla Morgan

The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment Fund was created by the family and friends of CSU’s late President Emeritus William Morgan and his wife, Lilla, to help foster a vibrant, rich, and evolving environment for the arts and cultural expression at Colorado State University.

Lilla B. Morgan

Lilla B. Morgan developed an appreciation for the arts at an early age, an appreciation she brought with her to Fort Collins when her husband, William E. Morgan, was named the eighth president of Colorado A&M in 1949. Morgan championed the fine arts, symphonies, and theater performances in a town better known then for livestock and farming. Today, her legacy lives on through the endowment fund in her honor that supports the advancement of the arts and culture at Colorado State.

Fostering a vibrant arts community

The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment provides grants to support projects in art, music, humanities, literature, and the performing arts, including but not limited to:

  • visiting/guest lecturers and artists;
  • purchase of art, rare books, or landscaping;
  • exhibits and performances;
  • scholarships and awards; or
  • any use that would showcase the breadth of human cultural endeavor and enhance the cultural awareness of the CSU community.
Lilla B. Morgan portrait
Lilla B. Morgan

Grants awarded

List of past grants awarded

Two awards cycles – application deadlines April 1 and Sept. 30

Funds are available during two awards cycles each year, with the application deadlines of April 1 and Sept. 30. Projects must occur at least 30 days after the application deadline, and applicants are encouraged to apply at least a semester ahead for upcoming programs if possible.

Applications are evaluated on their significance, originality, and potential impact on the campus community. Projects/programs of major impact, smaller projects, multi-year projects, and art acquisitions may all be considered for funding. While collaboration with community groups and organizations beyond CSU is welcome, grant requests must be submitted by CSU faculty, staff, or students and have the sponsorship of a CSU department, office, or organization.

All proposals will also be reviewed for demonstrated responsibility and thoughtfulness in project planning, budget development, and potential for successful implementation. Priority may be given to proposals that demonstrate strong departmental or unit support and a variety of funding sources. Incomplete applications (including those that are missing required signatures) will not be considered.

Application materials

All university departments are welcome and encouraged to apply for grant funding.

Committee members

Members of the Lilla B. Morgan Grant Awards Committee include:

  • Chair: June Greist, Director of Presidential and Administrative Communications
  • Somer Gomez, Office of the President
  • Cara Neth, Director of Executive Commutations, CSU System
  • Leif Sorensen, Faculty Representative
  • Kristi Bohlender, University Advancement
  • Tonya Malik-Carson, University Advancement
  • Amber Ramoz, Campus Activities

Contribute to Fund

Make a contribution to the Lilla B. Morgan Memorial fund to support the arts at CSU.


For questions about the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment fund, please contact Somer Gomez at